On the banks of the Dienvidsusēja River by the Gārsene Castle one can find tourist footpaths interspersed with spots for recreation and fire-making, as well as over 40 unique nature objects and the district’s most notable monuments of cultural history and architecture.
The castle was erected 150 years ago as a family property of Budberg barons, who had lived here since 1922.
Already in the 19th century the Budbergs began to surround the newly built castle with a park comprised of many peculiar and stately trees, alleys, bridges, ponds and benches. Nowadays the castle accommodates Gārsene Elementary School and museum. The legend has it that the castle is visited by the spirit of the prematurely deceased wife of baron von Budberg.
The culture and history trail:
- The trail leads to Gārsene Church, which was built in commemoration of the first wife. The church contains a pipe organ, well preserved stained glass, and original wooden decorations of the interior. Church services are held every third Saturday.
- The family chapel of the barons.
- The park has a variety of rare tree species.
The barons’ footpath:
- The Tea Hill – the baron family’s recreation spot at the mill by the Gārsene River.
- A pond where the baron used to go swimming.
- An alley of ash trees, a fireplace, a recreation spot for children.
- The Folk Song Stone. Here you can watch and learn everything about the various characters of folk legends.
- The great water elm – the third largest in Latvia.
- County: Akniste
- Address: "Labieši", Gārsenes pagasts, Aknīstes novads, LV-5218
- Contact person: -
- Web page: http://www.facebook.com/Garsenecastle/
- Phone number: +371 26390098, 26367150